Some people may find content on this website distressing. Read more
The Find & Connect website is changing soon Read more
Northern Territory - Legislation

Northern Territory (Administration) Act 1931 (1931 - 1978)

Principal Act

The Northern Territory (Administration) Act 1931 repealed the Northern Australia Act of 1926 which had divided the Territory into two separately administered districts, North and Central. Under this new legislation, the administration of the Northern Territory was placed in the hands of an Administrator based in Darwin and a Deputy Administrator based in Alice Springs. This Act was repealed by the Northern Territory (Self Government) Act 1978.

Sources used to compile this entry: Law Research Service, Melbourne Law School, Law Library, The University of Melbourne. 'Find and Connect Project - Northern Territory Legislation', 1 February 2013, held in the project files at the University of Melbourne eScholarship Research Centre.

Prepared by: Karen George and Gary George