Northern Territory (Administration) Act 1931, Northern Territory

1931 - 1978

Details

The Northern Territory (Administration) Act 1931 repealed the Northern Australia Act of 1926 which had divided the Territory into two separately administered districts, North and Central. Under this new legislation, the administration of the Northern Territory was placed in the hands of an Administrator based in Darwin and a Deputy Administrator based in Alice Springs. This Act was repealed by the Northern Territory (Self Government) Act 1978.

More info

Related Entries

Related Concepts

• Law in the Northern Territory (1863 - current)

You can view this page online by visiting https://www.findandconnect.gov.au/entity/northern-territory-administration-act-1931/