Hospitals Department, State Government of South Australia

1940 - 1978

Details

The Hospitals Department was established in 1940, replacing the Inspector General of Hospitals Office. The Health Department was responsible for the oversight and regulation of public hospitals, asylums, and mental hospitals. In 1978 the Hospitals Department merged with the Department of Public Health to form the Health Commission.

More info

Chronology

- Colonial Surgeon's Office, State Government of South Australia (1836 1914)
 - Inspector General of Hospitals Office, State Government of South Australia (1914 1940)
 - Hospitals Department, State Government of South Australia (1940 1978)
 - Health Commission, State Government of South Australia (1978 2008)
 - Department of Health, State Government of South Australia (2004 2012)

Related Entries

Ran

- Parkside Mental Hospital (1913 1967)
- Glenside Hospital (1967 2007)
- Enfield Receiving House (1922 1963)
- Enfield Hospital (1963 1982)
- Royal Adelaide Hospital (1939 current)
- Hillcrest Hospital (1964 1994)
- Northfield Mental Hospital (1929 1964)

Records

Records

• Records of the Hospitals Department and Predecessors (1836 - current)

You can view this page online by visiting https://www.findandconnect.gov.au/entity/hospitals-department-state-government-of-south-australia/