

St Mary's School, Darwin

1958 -

Other Names: • St Mary's Primary School

St Mary's Catholic Primary School

Details

St Mary's School, also known as St Mary's Primary School, was the new name given to St Joseph's School in 1958. It was run by the Daughters of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart and later came under the control of the Catholic Education Office, Diocese of Darwin. In the 1960s the school ceased to take in boarders. In 2014 St Mary's School, Darwin, was still operating.

St Mary's School, also known as St Mary's Primary School, was the new name given to St Joseph's School in 1958. It continued as a co-educational Primary School until 1960 when St John's College opened and boys from year six upwards were sent there. A new Primary school building opened in 1971. The Principal of the school continued to be a Sister from the Order of the Daughters of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart until 2003 when a secular Principal was appointed. The school came under the control of the Catholic Education Office, Diocese of Darwin. It appears that the school ceased to take boarders in the 1960s.

More info

Chronology

- Convent School, Darwin (1908 1912)
 - St Joseph's School, Darwin (1912 1958)
 - St Mary's School, Darwin (1958)

Related Entries

Run by

Daughters of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart (1885 - current)

You can view this page online by visiting https://www.findandconnect.gov.au/entity/st-marys-school-darwin/