

Medical Services, Health and Aboriginals Branch, Australian Government

1931 – 1939

Details

The Medical Services, Health and Aboriginals Branch was the new name given to the Health and Aboriginals Branch of the Northern Territory Administration in 1931. This Branch continued until 1939 when it was replaced by the Native Affairs Branch. This change resulted from the passing of the Aboriginals Ordinance in that year.

More info

Chronology

- Northern Territory Aboriginals Department, South Australian Government (1910 1928)
 - Health and Aboriginals Branch, Northern Territory Administration, Australian Government (1928 1930)
 - Medical Services, Health and Aboriginals Branch, Australian Government (1931 1939)
 - Native Affairs Branch, Australian Government (1939 1955)
 - Welfare Branch, Northern Territory Administration, Australian Government (1955 1970)
 - Welfare Division, Northern Territory Administration, Australian Government (1970 1972)
 - Department of Aboriginal Affairs, Northern Territory Division, Australian Government (1972 1990)
 - Community Welfare Section, Department of the Northern Territory, Australian Government (1974 1977)

Related Entries

Ran

- <u>The Bungalow (1914 1942)</u> Date: 1931 - 1939
- <u>Areyonga Native Settlement (1920s 1990)</u>
- Pine Creek Home (1931 1933)
- Myilly Point Home (1924 1939)
- Kahlin Compound (1913 1939)
- Channel Island Leprosarium (1931 1955)
 Date: 1931 1939

Related Legislation

• Aboriginals Ordinance 1939, Northern Territory (1939 - 1953)

You can view this page online by visiting <u>https://www.findandconnect.gov.au/entity/medical-services-health-and-aboriginals-branch/</u>