Native Affairs Branch, Australian Government

1939 - 1955

Other Names: • Native Affairs Section

Details

The Native Affairs Branch took over responsibility for Aboriginal people from the Medical Service, Health and Aboriginals Branch in 1939. The Native Affairs Branch worked under the direction of the Director of Native Affairs, a position which replaced the role of the Chief Protector Aborigines after that role had been abolished by the Aboriginals Ordinance 1939. In 1955 the work of the Native Affairs Branch was taken over by the Welfare Branch.

As a result of the Second World War, the Native Affairs Branch was moved from Darwin to Alice Springs in 1942. It is understood that in 1946, the Branch moved back to Darwin and a permanent local office was also established in Alice Springs.

From 1941 to 1951 changes within the Department of the Interior, the Commonwealth Department responsible for Northern Territory Administration, the Native Affairs Branch was re-defined as the Native Affairs Section.

More info

Chronology

- Northern Territory Aboriginals Department, South Australian Government (1910 1928)
 - Health and Aboriginals Branch, Northern Territory Administration, Australian Government (1928 1930)
 - Medical Services, Health and Aboriginals Branch, Australian Government (1931 1939)
 - Native Affairs Branch, Australian Government (1939 1955)
 - Welfare Branch, Northern Territory Administration, Australian Government (1955 1970)
 - Welfare Division, Northern Territory Administration, Australian Government (1970 1972)
 - Department of Aboriginal Affairs, Northern Territory Division, Australian Government (1972 1990)
 - Community Welfare Section, Department of the Northern Territory, Australian Government (1974 -1977)
 - Department of Community Services, Northern Territory Government (1977)

Related Entries

Ran

The Bungalow (1914 - 1942)
Date: 1939 - 1942

- Areyonga Native Settlement (1920s 1990)
- Bagot Aboriginal Reserve (1938 1978?)
- Pine Creek Home (1940 1941)
- Haasts Bluff Native Settlement (1940s 1959)
- Yuendumu Native Settlement (1946 1976)
- Phillip Creek Native Settlement (1945 1956)

Related Legislation

• Aboriginals Ordinance 1939, Northern Territory (1939 - 1953)

You can view this page online by visiting https://www.findandconnect.gov.au/entity/native-affairs-branch/