

Northern Territory Aboriginals Department, South Australian Government

1910 – 1928

Details

The Northern Territory Aboriginals Department was established under the provisions of the Northern Territory Aboriginals Act 1910. This South Australian Act was passed just before the Northern Territory came under Commonwealth control. The Aboriginals Department was responsible for the control and welfare of Aboriginal people. The Department was established under the Chief Protector, the legal guardian of every Aboriginal child. In 1928 the administrative work of this Department and that of the Department of Public Health was merged and the responsible agency was named the Health and Aboriginals Branch.

More info

Chronology

- Northern Territory Aboriginals Department, South Australian Government (1910 1928)
 - Health and Aboriginals Branch, Northern Territory Administration, Australian Government (1928 1930)
 - Medical Services, Health and Aboriginals Branch, Australian Government (1931 1939)
 - Native Affairs Branch, Australian Government (1939 1955)
 - Welfare Branch, Northern Territory Administration, Australian Government (1955 1970)
 Welfare Division, Northern Territory Administration, Australian Government (1970 1972)

Related Entries

Ran

- The Bungalow (1914 1942)
 - Date: 1914 1928
- Areyonga Native Settlement (1920s 1990)
- Myilly Point Home (1924 1939)
- Kahlin Compound (1913 1939)

Related Organisations

• Chief Protector of Aborigines, Northern Territory, South Australian Government (1910)

Related Legislation

• Northern Territory Aboriginals Act 1910, Northern Territory (1910 - 1918)

You can view this page online by visiting <u>https://www.findandconnect.gov.au/entity/northern-territory-aboriginals-department/</u>