

Department of Health, Australian Government

1921 – 1987

Details

The Department of Health, Commonwealth Government was created in 1921. It took over responsibility for some matters of health in the Northern Territory from the Northern Territory Administration. In 1977 the Northern Territory Government took over some of the functions of the Commonwealth branch and in 1987 the Department of health was abolished and replaced by the new Department for Community Services and Health.

The Department of Health, Commonwealth Government was created in March 1921. The office was staffed by 154 officers all transferred from the Quarantine Branch of the Department of Trade and Customs. The Department was responsible for quarantine, disease investigation and prevention and many other matters related to health and public health, including education. In April 1939 responsibility for some matters of health in the Northern Territory was transferred from the Northern Territory Administration to the Commonwealth Department of Health.

In January 1977 some functions of the Department of Health were transferred to the Northern Territory Government. In 1987 the Department of Health was abolished and its functions and legislation were transferred to the new Department for Community Services and Health.

More info

Related Entries

Related Organisations

- East Arm Leprosarium (1955 1982) The Commonwealth Department of Health oversaw the management of leprosy in Australia.
- <u>Mud Island Lazaret (1889 1931)</u> The Commonwealth Department of Health oversaw the management of leprosy in Australia.

You can view this page online by visiting https://www.findandconnect.gov.au/entity/department-of-health-4/