Office of the Minister Controlling the Northern Territory, South Australian Government

1892 - 1909

Details

The Office of the Minister Controlling the Northern Territory operated while the Northern Territory was under the control of the South Australian Government. The Office took on this name when responsibility for the Territory was transferred from the Minister of Education to the Treasurer. During this period the Government Resident in the Northern Territory reported to this office.

This office was formed in 1892 when Premier Thomas Playford reorganised the responsibilities of his Ministers. Responsibility for the Northern Territory was transferred from the Minister for Education to the Treasurer until 1901. Although the Northern Territory became the responsibility of a succession of different Ministers during the period 1901 to 1909, the name of the controlling office was retained. In December 1909 the name of the office changed to the Office of the Minister of the Northern Territory.

More info

Chronology

- Office of the Minister of Education and of the Northern Territory, South Australian Government (1889 1892)
 - Office of the Minister Controlling the Northern Territory, South Australian Government (1892 1909)
 - Office of the Minister for the Northern Territory, South Australian Government (1909 1911)

Related Entries

Ran

Mud Island Lazaret (1889 - 1931)

Date: 1892 - 1909

You can view this page online by visiting https://www.findandconnect.gov.au/entity/office-of-the-minister-controlling-the-northern-territory/