Office of the Government Resident, Central Australia, Australian Government

1927 - 1931

Details

The Office of the Government Resident, Central Australia, was responsible for the administration of the Central region of the Northern Territory when it was briefly split into two separate administrative areas. The Territory was divided along the 20th parallel under the provisions of the Northern Australia Act 1926. Both regions remained under the control of the Commonwealth Government. The office for Central Australia was located in Alice Springs. John Charles Cawood was appointed as the first Government Resident for Central Australia on 15 December 1926.

More info

Chronology

- Office of the Administrator, Northern Territory [I], Australian Government (1911 1927)
 - Office of the Government Resident, Central Australia, Australian Government (1927 1931)

Related Entries

Ran

Mud Island Lazaret (1889 - 1931)

Date: 1927 - 1931

Related Legislation

Northern Australia Act 1926, Northern Territory (1926 - 1931)

You can view this page online by visiting https://www.findandconnect.gov.au/entity/office-of-the-government-resident-central-australia/