# Department of Health, Northern Territory Divisional Office, Australian Government

1939 - 1978

# **Details**

The Northern Territory Divisonal Office of the Commonwealth Department of Health was responsible for health functions and services in the Northern Territory from 1939. From 1942 until 1946 as a result of the evacuation of the Territory during the Second World War the Commandant, 7th Military District took over control of these functions. In 1946 the Divisional Office resumed its work. When the Northern Territory achieved self-government in 1978, the Northern Territory Divisional Office of the Department of Health was closed and health functions transferred to the Department of Resources and Health.

# More info

### Chronology

- Department of Health, Northern Territory Divisional Office, Australian Government (1939 1978)
  - Department of Resources and Health, Northern Territory Government (1977 1978)
    - Department of Health, Northern Territory Government (1978 1987)
      - Department of Health and Community Services [I], Northern Territory Government (1987 1995)
        - Territory Health Services, Northern Territory Government (1995 2001)
          - Department of Health and Community Services [II], Northern Territory Government (2001 2008)

### **Related Entries**

### Ran

- Channel Island Leprosarium (1931 1955)
- East Arm Leprosarium (1955 1982)

Date: 1955 - 1978

You can view this page online by visiting <a href="https://www.findandconnect.gov.au/entity/department-of-health-northern-territory-divisional-office/">https://www.findandconnect.gov.au/entity/department-of-health-northern-territory-divisional-office/</a>