# Ministry of Justice, State of Western Australia

1993 - 2001

## **Details**

The Ministry of Justice was established on 1 January 1993 by an amalgamation of the Corrective Services and Crown Law Departments, and the Youth Justice Bureau. Juvenile justice functions that had previously been under the *Child Welfare Act 1947* came under the control of the Ministry of Justice when the *Young Offenders Act 1994* came into force on 13 March 1995. On 1 July 2001, the Ministry of Justice changed its name to the Department of Justice.

## More info

## Chronology

- Ministry of Justice, State of Western Australia (1993 2001)
  - Department of Justice, State of Western Australia (2001 2006)
    - Department of Corrective Services, State of Western Australia (2006 2017)
      - Department of Justice, State of Western Australia (2017 current)

### **Related Entries**

#### Ran

- Gwynne Lea (1970 1997?)
- Rangeview Remand Centre (1994 2012)
- Warminda Bail Hostel (1993 1994)
- Banksia Hill Detention Centre (1997 current)
- Riverbank (1960 1996)
- Warramia Group Home (1972 2004?)
- Longmore Detention Centre (1993 1997)

#### **Related Organisations**

Department for Community Development, State of Western Australia (1 October 1992 - 1 July 1995)
The youth justice functions of the Department for Community Development were transferred to the Ministry of Justice in July 1994.

#### **Related Legislation**

Young Offenders Act 1994, Western Australia (1994 - current)

## Records

## Records

• Youth Justice Records (July 1994 - current)

You can view this page online by visiting <a href="https://www.findandconnect.gov.au/entity/ministry-of-justice/">https://www.findandconnect.gov.au/entity/ministry-of-justice/</a>