

Division of Psychiatric Services

1963 - 1968

Details

The Division of Psychiatric Services, a part of the Health Services Department, formerly the Public Health Department, replaced the Division of Mental Health in 1963. It was responsible for the Guardianship Board and Lachlan Park and Millbrook Rise Psychopathic Hospitals as well as other mental health services. In 1968, the Mental Health Services Commission replaced it. A Royal Derwent Hospital Board took over the management of the former Lachlan Park and Millbrook Rise Hospitals.

More info

Chronology

- Division of Mental Hygiene (1945 1956)
 - Division of Mental Health (1956 1963)
 - Division of Psychiatric Services (1963 1968)
 - The Mental Health Services Commission (1968 1989)
 - Mental Health Services (1989? current)

Related Entries

Ran

- Lachlan Park Hospital (1937 1968)
- Millbrook Rise Psychopathic Hospital (1933 1968)

Related Organisations

- <u>Guardianship Board (1963 c. 1995)</u> The Guardianship Board was a part of the Division of Psychiatric Services.
- Royal Derwent Hospital (1968 2000)

Records

Records

• Correspondence Files, Public Health Department (1940 - 1989)