

# Department of the Interior, Commonwealth Government

1939 – 1972

## Details

A new Commonwealth Department of the Interior was created in 1939 when a number of matters under the control of the original Department of the Interior were transferred to other portfolios. Among many other matters, the second Department of the Interior was responsible for overseeing the emigration of children and Aboriginal people. It also retained responsibility for the administration of the Northern Territory and the Australian Capital Territory. It was closely involved with the evacuation of children from the Northern Territory to southern states during World War II. The Department of the Interior was abolished in 1972 and its role split between nine other departments. Administration of the Northern Territory was transferred to the Department of the Capital Territory.

## More info

## Chronology

- Department of the Interior, Commonwealth Government (1932 1939)
  - Department of the Interior, Commonwealth Government (1939 1972)
    - Department of the Capital Territory, Australian Government (1972 1983)
      - Department of Territories and Local Government, Australian Government (1983 1984)

## **Related Entries**

#### Ran

- Balaklava Aboriginal Welfare Institution (1942 1946)
- Birralee (1957? 1968)
  Birralee shelter appears to have been jointly administered by the New South Wales Welfare Office in Canberra and the Department of the Interior.
  Date: 1957 1968

#### **Related Organisations**

- Convent of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart, Carrieton (1942 1945)
- Welfare Branch, Australian Capital Territory (c. 1970 c. 1989)

#### **Related Legislation**

• Maintenance Act 1968, Australian Capital Territory (1969 - 1999)

### Resources

- Archives ACT, Child Welfare Policy Records, 2012
- Archives ACT, Department of Disability, Housing and Community Services: development of the Department's records disposal schedule. Stage 1 Preliminary Investigation, 11 March 2004

You can view this page online by visiting https://www.findandconnect.gov.au/entity/department-of-the-interior-3/