Department of the Interior, Commonwealth Government

1932 - 1939

Details

The Commonwealth Department of the Interior was created in 1932 when the Departments of Home Affairs, Transport and Works and Railways were amalgamated. The new department took over responsibility for numerous matters including the emigration of children and Aboriginal people. It was also responsible for the Northern Territory. In 1939 after changes of responsibility within the Commonwealth, a new Department of the Interior replaced the original department.

More info

Chronology

- Department of the Interior, Commonwealth Government (1932 1939)
 - Department of the Interior, Commonwealth Government (1939 1972)
 - Department of the Capital Territory, Australian Government (1972 1983)
 - Department of Territories and Local Government, Australian Government (1983 1984)

You can view this page online by visiting https://www.findandconnect.gov.au/entity/department-of-the-interior-2/