Aborigines Office, South Australian Government

1866 - 1912

Details

The Aborigines Office was the name given to the Office of the Protector of Aborigines in 1866 while the position of Protector was vacant due to illness. During this period the responsibilities of the Protector were taken on by clerks in the Aborigines Office and a greater number of sub-protectors. The Aborigines Office consisted only of the Chief Protector of Aborigines, the Sub-Protector, Far North and one junior clerk when it was replaced by the Aborigines Department in 1912.

The Aborigines Office was under the auspices of the Minister for Crown Lands and Immigration until 1891. Between 1892 and 1901 the Minister of Agriculture and Education was the Minister responsible. Subsequently the office came under the Treasurer and Commissioner for Crown Lands and Immigration (1902 – 1903), the Attorney-General and Minister of Education (1904 – 1905), Commissioner of Public Works and Minister of Education (1906 – 1908), and Commissioner of Public Works thereafter.

More info

Chronology

- Aborigines Office, South Australian Government (1866 1912)
 - Aborigines Department, South Australian Government (1912 1962)
 - Department of Aboriginal Affairs, South Australian Government (1963 1970)
 - Department of Social Welfare and Aboriginal Affairs, South Australian Government (1970 1972)
 - Department for Community Welfare, South Australian Government (1972 1990)
 - Department for Family and Community Services, South Australian Government (1990 1998)

Related Entries

Related Events

Select Committee of the Legislative Council upon the Aborigines, Colony of South Australia (1860)

Records

Records

Records of the Aborigines' Office and Successor Agencies (1866? - 1971?)

You can view this page online by visiting https://www.findandconnect.gov.au/entity/aborigines-office/