Department of Social Welfare and Aboriginal Affairs, South Australian Government

1970 - 1972

Details

The Department of Social Welfare and Aboriginal Affairs was formed in 1970 by the amalgamation of the Department of Social Welfare and the Department of Aboriginal Affairs. In 1972 it became the Department for Community Welfare.

More info

Chronology

- Department of Social Welfare, South Australian Government (1966 1970)
- Department of Aboriginal Affairs, South Australian Government (1963 1970)
 - Department of Social Welfare and Aboriginal Affairs, South Australian Government (1970 1972)
 - Department for Community Welfare, South Australian Government (1972 1990)
 - Department for Family and Community Services, South Australian Government (1990 1998)
 - Family and Youth Services, Department of Human Services, South Australian Government (1998 -2004)
 - Children, Youth and Family Services, Department for Families and Communities, South Australian Government (2004 - 2006)
 - Families SA, Department for Families and Communities (2006 2011)

Related Entries

Ran

Brookway Park (1965 - 1978)

Date: 1970 - 1972

• Lochiel Park Boys' Training Centre (1958 - 1995)

Date: 1970 - 1972

• McNally Training Centre (1967 - 1979)

Date: 1970 - 1972

• Vaughan House (1947 - 1979)

Date: 1970 - 1972

• Windana Remand Home (1965 - 1975)

Date: 1970 - 1972

Allambi Girls' Hostel (1947 - 1977)

Date: 1970 - 1972

• Davenport House (1964 - 1977)

Date: 1970 - 1972

• Kumanka Boys' Hostel (1946 - 1980)

Date: 1970 - 1972

• Luprina Hostel (1971 - current)

Date: 1971 - 1972

• Nindee Hostel (1971 - current)

Date: 1971 - 1972

• Stuart House Boys' Hostel (1964 - 1990)

Date: 1970 - 1972

• Clark Cottage, Clarence Park (1963 - 1979)

Date: 1970 - 1972

• Colton Cottage, Thorngate (1965 - 1982)

Date: 1970 - 1972

• Fullarton Cottage, Myrtle Bank (1970 - 1979)

Fullarton College was run by the Department of Social Welfare and Aboriginal Affairs and its successors.

Date: 1970 - 1972

• Largs Bay Cottage Home (1970 - current)

Largs Bay Cottage Home was run by the Department of Social Welfare and Aboriginal Affairs and its successors.

Date: 1970 - ?

Merrilama Cottage, Glenelg (1960 - 1979)

Date: 1970 - 1972

• Port Pirie Cottage (1962 - 1972)

Date: 1970 - 1972

Spence Cottage, Kensington Gardens (1963 - 1980)

Date: 1970 - 1972

• Stirling Cottage, St Peters (1962 - 1979)

Date: 1970 - 1972

Gerard Mission (1946 - 1974)

Date: 1970 - 1972

• Glandore Boys' Home (1966 - 1973)

Date: 1970 - 1972

• Seaforth Home (1946 - 1975)

Date: 1970 - 1972

• Ernabella Mission (1937 - 1974)

• Point McLeay Mission Station (1859 - 1974)

Date: 1970 - 1972

• Point Pearce Aboriginal Station (1915 - 1972)

Date: 1970 - 1972

• Koonibba Mission (1901 - 1975)

Date: 1970 - 1972

Related Organisations

• Convent of the Good Shepherd "The Pines" (1942 - 1974)

The Convent of the Good Shepherd "The Pines" was run by the Order of the Good Shepherd Sisters under the control of the Department of Social Welfare and Aboriginal Affairs.

Date: 1970 - 1972

• The Salvation Army Boys' Home, Mount Barker (1945 - 1982)

The Department of Social Welfare and Aboriginal Affairs conducted regular inspections of The Salvation Army Boys' Home, Mt Barker as part of its legislative requirements

Date: 1970 - 1972

• Aboriginal Women's Home, North Adelaide (1926 - c. 1975)

The Adelaide City Mission ran the Aboriginal Women's Home with financial assistance from the Department of Social Welfare and Aboriginal Affairs.

• Fullarton Children's Home (1969 - 1986)

Fullarton Children's Home was regularly inspected by the Department of Social Welfare and Aboriginal Affairs

Records

Records

• Records of the Aborigines' Office and Successor Agencies (1866? - 1971?)

You can view this page online by visiting https://www.findandconnect.gov.au/entity/department-of-social-welfare-and-aboriginal-affairs/