# Department of Aboriginal Affairs, South Australian Government

1963 - 1970

## **Details**

The Department of Aboriginal Affairs replaced the Aborigines Department in 1963. In 1970 it was replaced by the Department of Social Welfare and Aboriginal Affairs.

## More info

## Chronology

- Aborigines Office, South Australian Government (1866 1912)
  - Aborigines Department, South Australian Government (1912 1962)
  - Department of Aboriginal Affairs, South Australian Government (1963 1970)
    - Department of Social Welfare and Aboriginal Affairs, South Australian Government (1970 1972)
      - Department for Community Welfare, South Australian Government (1972 1990)
        - Department for Family and Community Services, South Australian Government (1990 1998)
          - Family and Youth Services, Department of Human Services, South Australian Government (1998 2004)
            - Children, Youth and Family Services, Department for Families and Communities, South Australian Government (2004 - 2006)

#### **Related Entries**

#### Ran

Gerard Mission (1946 - 1974)

Date: 1963 - 1970

• Umeewarra Mission Home, Davenport Reserve (1964 - 1995)

Date: 1964 - 1970

Point McLeay Mission Station (1859 - 1974)

Date: 1963 - 1970

• Point Pearce Aboriginal Station (1915 - 1972)

Date: 1963 - 1970

Koonibba Mission (1901 - 1975)

Date: 1963 - 1970

#### Resources

• State Records of South Australia, <u>Agency Details: GRG52 Aborigines' Office and successor agencies</u>, State Records of South Australia, ArchivesSearch, No date

# Records

## Records

• Records of the Aborigines' Office and Successor Agencies (1866? - 1971?)

You can view this page online by visiting <a href="https://www.findandconnect.gov.au/entity/department-of-aboriginal-affairs-2/">https://www.findandconnect.gov.au/entity/department-of-aboriginal-affairs-2/</a>