

Department of Public Health, State Government of New South Wales

1938 - 1973

Other Names: • Department of Health

Details

The New South Wales Department of Public Health was established as a separate ministerial department by the New South Wales Government in 1938. It held responsibility for general hospitals (previously under the Colonial Secretary's Department), mental hospitals (previously under the Master of Lunacy), and the Office of Public Health. From 1965 this Department contained a Bureau of Maternal and Child Health, which was an amalgamation of the School Medical Service (begun in 1907) and the Division of Maternal and Baby Welfare (begun in 1914). According to State Records, in its later years this Department was often called the Department of Health, but the title was never officially changed. In April 1973 this Department was replaced with the Health Commission.

More info

Chronology

- Inspector of Public Charities (1866 1888)
 - Department of Charitable Institutions (1888 1911)
 - Metropolitan Hospitals and Charities Department, State Government of New South Wales (1911 1913)
 - Office of the Director-General of Public Health (1913 1938)
 - Department of Public Health, State Government of New South Wales (1938 1973)
 - Health Commission, State Government of New South Wales (1973 1982)
 - Health Department, State Government of New South Wales (1982 current)

Related Entries

Ran

- Crown Street Women's Hospital (1893 1983)
- Waterfall Sanatorium (14 April 1909 31 December 1958)
- Liverpool State Hospital and Home (1933 1962)
- Grosvenor Hospital (1965 1985)

Related Organisations

Hospitals Commission of New South Wales (1929 - 1973)

The Hospitals Commission was part of the Department of Public Health after 1938

Resources

• Report of the Director-General of Public Health, New South Wales, 1925 - 1971

You can view this page online by visiting https://www.findandconnect.gov.au/entity/department-of-public-health/