

Department of the Capital Territory, Australian Government

1972 - 1983

Details

The Department of the Capital Territory was formed in 1972. It took over some of the functions of the Department of the Interior, and oversaw the Welfare Branch (ACT), which was established in 1970. In 1983 the Department of the Capital Territory became the Department of Territories and Local Government.

The Department of Capital Territory was formed following a restructure by the Whitlam Government in 1972.

More info

Chronology

- Department of the Interior, Commonwealth Government (1932 1939)
 - Department of the Interior, Commonwealth Government (1939 1972)
 - Department of the Capital Territory, Australian Government (1972 1983)
 - Department of Territories and Local Government, Australian Government (1983 1984)

Related Entries

Related Legislation

Maintenance Act 1968, Australian Capital Territory (1969 - 1999)

Resources

Archives ACT, <u>Department of Disability, Housing and Community Services: development of the Department's records disposal schedule.</u> Stage 1 Preliminary Investigation, 11 March 2004

You can view this page online by visiting https://www.findandconnect.gov.au/entity/department-of-the-capital-territory/