

# Welfare Section, Australian Capital Territory

1957 - 1970

## **Details**

The Welfare Section of the Australian Capital Territory (ACT) Government was the agency responsible for the welfare of children in the ACT from 1968, though the Section was established in 1957. Before 1968, child welfare in the ACT was the responsibility of the Child Welfare Department of the New South Wales Government. In 1970 the Welfare Section, ACT was renamed the Welfare Branch, ACT.

The Welfare Section of the Australian Capital Territory was, for most of its history, part of the Australian Capital Territory Services Division of the Department of Interior. However, from 1964-1966 it was part of the Central Office Facilities Branch, and from 1968-1966 it was part of the Territories Division.

# More info

## Chronology

- Welfare Section, Australian Capital Territory (1957 1970)
  - Welfare Branch, Australian Capital Territory (c. 1970 c. 1989)

## Related Entries

#### **Related Legislation**

Child Welfare Ordinance 1957, Australian Capital Territory (1958 - 1988)

In 1968 the Welfare Section, ACT acquired responsibility for the welfare of children in the ACT, including the responsibilities outlined in the *Child Welfare Ordinance 1957*.

Date: 1968 - 1970

#### **Related Organisations**

• Birralee (1957? - 1968)

The closure of Birralee shelter may have been a decision made by the Welfare Section in 1968 as the Shelter is not referred to in annual reports after 1967.

Child Welfare Department, State Government of New South Wales (1923 - 1970)

## Resources

 Archives ACT, <u>Department of Disability, Housing and Community Services: development of the Department's</u> records disposal schedule. Stage 1 Preliminary Investigation, 11 March 2004