Some people may find content on this website distressing. Read more
Western Australia - Organisation

Ministry of Justice (1993 - 2001)

State of Western Australia

Care Provider and Government Department

The Ministry of Justice was established on 1 January 1993 by an amalgamation of the Corrective Services and Crown Law Departments, and the Youth Justice Bureau. Juvenile justice functions that had previously been under the Child Welfare Act 1947 came under the control of the Ministry of Justice when the Young Offenders Act 1994 came into force on 13 March 1995. On 1 July 2001, the Ministry of Justice changed its name to the Department of Justice.


 1993 - 2001 Ministry of Justice
       2001 - 2006 Department of Justice
             2006 - 2017 Department of Corrective Services
                   2017 - Department of Justice, State of Western Australia

Related Archival Collections

Related Glossary Terms

Related Organisations


Online Resources

Sources used to compile this entry: 'AU WA A643 - Ministry of Justice', in State Records Office of Western Australia - Organisations & People, State Records Office of Western Australia, 2015,

Prepared by: Debra Rosser