Some people may find content on this website distressing. Read more
Western Australia - Organisation

Chief Secretary's Department (1924 - 1983)

Government Department

The Chief Secretary's Department was the new title given on 16 April 1924 to the Colonial Secretary's Office. It was responsible for a number of varied functions including Harbour and Lights, Gaols, Registrar General of Births, Deaths and Marriages, Astronomical Services and Racing. By 1980, the Department's responsibilities were limited to Prisons, Astronomical Services, Registrar General of Births, Deaths and Marriages and the Correspondence Despatch Office. The Department was abolished in 1983.


 1828 - 1890 Colonial Secretary's Office
       1890 - 1924 Colonial Secretary's Office
             1924 - 1983 Chief Secretary's Department


Online Resources

Sources used to compile this entry: 'AU WA A240 - Chief Secretary's Department', in State Records Office of Western Australia - Organisations & People, State Records Office of Western Australia, 2015,

Prepared by: Debra Rosser