Some people may find content on this website distressing. Read more
The Find & Connect website is changing soon Read more
Victoria - Organisation

Wimmera Community Care (1981 - 2000)

Care Provider, Family Group Home and Foster Care

Wimmera Community Care was founded in 1981 when Wimmera Family Group Homes and Wimmera Emergency Housing amalgamated. It operated family group homes, Residential Care, foster care, Shared Family Care and Adolescent Community Placement in the Wimmera region of Victoria. The organisation changed its name to Wimmera UnitingCare in 2010.


Wimmera Community Care ran two family group homes, one in Horsham and one in Stawell, continuously until 1994. In 1994 the Stawell family group home was closed and the property in Horsham became a Residential Care Unit. In 1985 the organisation commenced its foster care program and in 1988 it added a Shared Family Care programme. Wimmera Community Care's Adolescent Community Placement programme began in the 1994/95 financial year.


1981 - 1994
Address - Wimmera Family Group Homes ran a family group home at 9 Franklin Street, Stawell. Location: Stawell
1981 - 2000?
Address - Wimmera Family Group Homes ran a family group home at 6 Landy Street, Horsham. Location: Horsham
1994 - 2000?
Address - Wimmera Family Group Homes ran a residential care unit at 9 Franklin Street, Stawell


 1979 - 1981 Wimmera Family Group Homes
       1981 - 2000 Wimmera Community Care
             2000 - 2017 Wimmera UnitingCare
                   2017 - Uniting (Victoria and Tasmania) Limited

Related Archival Collections


Online Resources

Sources used to compile this entry: James Jenkinson Consulting, Guide to out-of-home care services 1940-2000 - Volume One: Agency Descriptions, Department of Human Services, Unpublished, November 2001,; UnitingCare Victoria and Tasmania, 'Submission to the Australian Senate Community Affairs References Committee Inquiry into Children in Institutional Care 29 July 2003 (submission 52)', in Inquiry into Institutional Care: Submissions received as at 17/03/05, Commonwealth of Australia, 2003,

Prepared by: Nell Musgrove