Cabra Dominican Convent opened in Adelaide in 1868 as a day and boarding school. Run by the Dominican Sisters it was initially staffed by nine sisters who supervised 37 boarders. In 1886 the school moved to a new site in Goodwood. By 1928 numbers of boarders had grown to 93 with 232 day students. In 1957 some children under the care of the Director of Welfare in the Northern Territory were sent to Cabra as boarders. The Cabra Dominican Convent Boarding House closed in 1999. The school was still operating in 2019.
Sources used to compile this entry: 'Cabra Dominican College - History', in Cabra Dominican College, https://www.cabra.catholic.edu.au/discover/history/; NAA - D678, A82 PART 1, Part coloured children transfer from Northern Territory, 1952-1958.
Prepared by: Karen George and Gary George
Created: 27 May 2014, Last modified: 11 February 2019