Some people may find content on this website distressing. Read more
The Find & Connect website is changing soon Read more
Northern Territory - Concept

Northern Territory (1931 - 1978)


The Northern Territory was adminsitered by the Commonwealth of Australia from 1931 to 1978. After World War Two, as local pressures in the Territory for political advancement grew, the Commonwealth Government amended the 1910 Northern Territory (Administration) Act in 1947 to provide for a Northern Territory Legislative Council. In 1974, the Whitlam Government created a fully elected Legislative Assembly for the Territory. However, the real power remained with the Commonwealth until 1978 when the Fraser Government enacted the
Northern Territory (Self-Government) Act 1978.


 1863 - 1911 The Northern Territory of South Australia
       1911 - 1927 Northern Territory of Australia
             1927 - 1931 Territory of Central Australia
             1927 - 1931 Territory of North Australia
                   1931 - 1978 Northern Territory
                         1978 - Northern Territory of Australia

Related Legislation


Online Resources

Sources used to compile this entry: 'Northern Territory documents', in Documenting a Democracy, National Archives of Australia, 2011,

Prepared by: Cate O'Neill