Some people may find content on this website distressing. Read more
Northern Territory - Concept

Territory of North Australia (1927 - 1931)


With the passing of the Northern Australia Act in February 1927, the Territory was divided at the 20th parallel into two regions, North and Central. Both were administered by the Commonwealth with a Government Resident based in each region. They recombined as the Northern Territory in June 1931.


 1863 - 1911 The Northern Territory of South Australia
       1911 - 1927 Northern Territory of Australia
             1927 - 1931 Territory of North Australia
                   1931 - 1978 Northern Territory
                         1978 - Northern Territory of Australia

Prepared by: Anna Trengove