Some people may find content on this website distressing. Read more
Northern Territory - Organisation

Church Missionary Society, Australia (1916 - )

Anglican and Care Provider

The Church Missionary Society is an Anglican missionary society founded in London in 1799. Whilst an auxiliary for the Church Missionary Society was established in Sydney in 1825, the Church Missionary Society of Australia was not formed until 1916, after the states of Australia federated. The Church Missionary Society ran a number of Missions in the Northern Territory.


Online Resources

Sources used to compile this entry: 'History', in Church Missionary Society's website, Church Missionary Society - Australia, 2010,

Prepared by: Gary George and Karen George