Some people may find content on this website distressing. Read more
The Find & Connect website is changing soon Read more
Northern Territory - Place

Northern Territory of Australia (1911 - 1927)


In 1908 a bill was passed in the Parliament of South Australia to transfer control of the Northern Territory to the recently formed Commonwealth of Australia.The transfer of the Territory was slowed by delays in the Australian Senate until the Northern Territory Acceptance Bill was passed in 1910. From 1 January 1911 the Northern Territory fell under the responsibility of the Commonwealth of Australia.


Online Resources

Sources used to compile this entry: 'Northern Territory documents', in Documenting a Democracy, National Archives of Australia, 2011,

Prepared by: Anna Trengove